#onetake, Part II

by regressada

I have to add something to the list from the other day. it’s so cliche but like most cliche things it is overuse that desensitizes us to the meaning, not the absence of meaning. yup. it’s #authenticity. real.

real stuff.

back to basics. I crave a more REAL life. and yes, an “inauthentic” thing is just as physically real as an authentic thing…but let’s think about this for a minute. sure the eggs you buy at the grocery store with a picture of the iconic red barn and crowing rooster are “real” and are in fact real eggs. frying them up on a Saturday morning might give you the same nostalgic feelings drawn from our country’s metastory (can’t remember the other better word for this) of farm life and early mornings and big breakfasts and big families or even fond memories from your own childhood. but the reality? well, much different. (I would cite more detail at peril of one of you jumping on the wrong point I’m trying to make.) I’m talking right now about our physical day to day resources–almost all of them if you go back to the source are 1)made in factories and/or labs 2) made from petroleum or corn.

I didn’t actually know this until I read The Omnivore’s Dilemma, a book I think should be required reading everywhere. but even before that, something in my gut (yes I’ve been watching NCIS) led me to feel like something really isn’t right here.

I’d also like to note that this is not anti capitalist. at least I hope not. if so then maybe capitalism actually has some serious problems that need to be looked at. I always used to hear the “God put us here to take care of the earth, stewardship blah blah blah” mantra without actually realizing what a terrible job we were doing at it.

nor am I saying I know the answer. I’m simply thinking for me, personally, I feel a disconnect so strong between the way we live our lives day to day and the way we Were Supposed To that I can’t just do nothing about it. like I said, it’s driving me nuts.

have you seen statistics about how much waste we produce in the states? it just isn’t about the numbers–I hate it when people try to play our emotions by trying to stagger us with huge numbers…”did you know out of the 7 billion people alive, 6.28406 billion of them have gotten the flu!!?” duhz. when you’re working with a lot of space and people, the numbers WILL be big. but if you look at PERCENTAGES of how much MORE we are using up in unsustainable ways (another cliche buzzword but actually means something) it’s —well it’s just stupid.

yikes I’m going on a tangent. I was going to talk about the five senses. okay. so I’m an aethstete, right? that means I highly value physical beauty that can be experienced with all five senses. I think nature is the best (duh) place to find that. the fact that we even have a word to DISTINGUISH Where we live from walls we put up to get away from It–it’s kinda weird if you think about it. like, “I feel the most refreshed when I’m in nature” as opposed to what? can you smell walls? do the ceiling tiles give you the same visual stimulation as a sky full of stars? (I have a math genius friend that once spent a few hours deciphering the pattern of dots at the table in our cafeteria. that was cool. but I digress.) I guess it comes down to: when did we start thinking that the worlds WE build can actually REPLACE the one we were charged with tending and filling?

we were MEANT to be.in.nature.all.the.time. we were MEANT to interact with it– in our daily rituals, to touch, taste, smell, hear, see its beauty and richness.

I’ve realized something about myself: I like to chop vegetables okay? laugh. it’s okay. I buy the whole carrots and peel and chop them which takes a LOT longer but I’ve realized (I’m not even kidding) I do it because the action of peeling and chopping carrots put put me closer to nature–ahem–Where We Were SOpposed To Be… hands moving. interacting.

lots of you know I run barefoot right? and I tell you it’s cuz I run faster barefoot. you know what’s also true? I run faster because I know that’s how it’s supposed to work. it makes me feel whole, literally connected to the earth in a way that wearing shoes…well just doesn’t.

you know they are finding out that touching your feet to real ground literally relieves stress in your body? like they do heat maps of stress before and after touching bare feet to ground and the stress gets sucked right up by the dirt. literally GROUNdS you in the same way an antennae runs into the ground. BECAUSE IT WAS dESIGNeD THAT WAY.

we spend all this time and money trying to make our lives more convenient. but all that does is make us sick, sad, and shin-splint ridden. (that alliteration was working well at first…)

I don’t really like how convoluted and bitter sounding this post is. I promise I’m not bitter. I’m just…

“aching for the real thing” as Rend Collective put it.

#onetake

